Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is 7,700 BTU/h DOE enough for your minimum tier?
It clears a 7,100-BTU DOE minimum but not an 8,000-BTU minimum; the separate 14,000-BTU ASHRAE figure is not DOE capacity.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the standard slider cover the measured opening?
A 50-inch opening is within the 20.5-59-inch span; 60 inches exceeds the stated maximum.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the room handle its listed cabinet mass?
A 69-pound ceiling accommodates 68.3 pounds; a 68-pound maximum does not.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the cabinet fit your depth maximum?
The listed 13.8-inch depth fits a 14-inch limit, but not 13.5 inches.
Explore this need in the finder →Can you accept a listed Heat mode whose mechanism and conditions are not settled, rather than requiring a verified heater type?
The exact page lists Heat, but two official HWT manuals conflict on heat-pump versus electrical operation. Neither a confirmed mechanism nor outdoor operating range is established.
Explore this need in the finder →Can you route gravity drainage, or is an integrated pump essential?
A gravity hose route is documented, but no built-in lift pump is. Heat can fill the tank; a mandatory-versus-optional hose condition is not stated.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require connected control?
The exact HWT manual provides app-pairing directions naming BPACT14HWT; current phone, router or service compatibility is not tested.
Explore this need in the finder →The BLACK+DECKER BPACT14HWT has a documented 7,700-BTU DOE cooling figure, a separate 14,000-BTU ASHRAE 128 headline and an 11,000-BTU heating claim. Those numbers describe different evidence: use 7,700 for standardized portable-cooling comparisons, not 14,000. The exact U.S. product article lists a four-mode air conditioner/heater/dehumidifier/fan but does not state what kind of heater it uses.
Where the 14HWT may fit
It is worth comparing if 7,700 BTU/h DOE is enough for the room’s actual heat load, you want the listed Heat mode, and a single exhaust hose and gravity-drain option fit the space. The product article lists automatic water evaporation, a washable filter, a full-function remote, 24-hour timer, sleep mode, casters and a window kit. It identifies R-410A refrigerant, not the R-32 shown on the distinct BPACT12HWT page. Do not carry capacity, refrigerant or feature assumptions across suffixes just because both names end in HWT.
A manual-revision conflict matters here. The official manual-center page titled for BPACT12HWT/BPACT14HWT links a 24-page document whose cover calls the product a “portable air conditioner with heat pump,” and whose catalog numbers use BPACT12H**/BPACT14H** wildcards. That document’s room-temperature table and moisture instructions are useful but do not state an outdoor heat-pump range. Separately, a 192-page manual linked from the HWT12 product article lists BPACT14HWT on its cover and labels its Heat mode “electrical heat type,” with a 61–81°F room operating range; it also limits the detailed Heat controls to BPACT14HWT. The exact 14HWT product article itself says only “heating.” Until the manufacturer reconciles these official documents for the exact rating-label version, this review does not classify the heater as a heat pump or electric resistance, and no outdoor heat-pump limit is assigned.
Cooling and heating are not interchangeable ratings
The exact support article labels 14,000 BTU under ASHRAE 128 and separately states 7,700 BTU under the DOE test standard. Only the latter satisfies the finder’s DOE/SACC capacity thresholds: it clears 7,100 but not 8,000. The 11,000-BTU heating claim has no separately stated test basis and should not be compared as a cooling rating. The exact page does not provide CEER, a sound result, room-area estimate, annual energy label or running power in the material archived here. Even a published area estimate would not account for a room’s solar gain, insulation, ceiling or open-plan connections.
Plan the hose, sash and cabinet space
The two official HWT manuals agree on the 20.5–59-inch standard slider span, and describe an exhaust hose during Cool/Dehumidify and Heat but no hose for Fan. They permit trimming a panel below the standard minimum without giving a numerical post-cut endpoint. The 24-page manual shows a gravity drain route and says continuous drainage can also be used in Heat mode; the 192-page instructions say water can collect in Heat and may need draining. That supports a gravity option, not an always-mandatory hose rule. No built-in lift pump is documented. The shorter manual recommends 12 inches of clearance around the unit and the longer one recommends substantially larger clearances for optimum airflow; check the instructions that match the actual unit before installing it in a tight alcove.
The exact product page lists a 17.1-inch width, 13.8-inch depth, 28.1-inch height and 68.3-pound unit mass. The 24-page HWT-family specification table gives the same cabinet dimensions and 68.3 pounds for the second HWT entry, so the listing and paired manual agree for the 14HWT. It is still a heavy cabinet to carry; casters help on smooth floors, not stairs or thresholds. A 14-inch depth limit clears the listed measurement; a 68-pound handling ceiling does not.
Drainage, cleaning and control
Automatic evaporation can reduce cooling drain chores, but it does not guarantee that a tank will never fill. Both manuals discuss full-tank shutdown and manual draining. The HWT manual recommends weekly filter cleaning and gives a one-year limited warranty. One manual prohibits adapters and extension cords; the pair differ on nominal 115 versus 120 volts, so verify the label and use a grounded outlet. BPAC units are not for sale in California; a live support article is not proof of stock elsewhere.
The exact 14HWT article does not claim connected control. A broad “smart” family manual includes app/voice instructions, while the dedicated HWT-pair manual does not; app status stays unknown for this version, so a hard app requirement should not assume it qualifies. A full-function remote and the top-mounted control panel are documented.
How your answers should change the shortlist
A 7,100-BTU DOE minimum can include the BPACT14HWT; an 8,000-BTU minimum cannot. A 50-inch opening fits the standard kit span, while 60 inches exceeds it. A 69-pound maximum accommodates its listed mass; a 68-pound ceiling does not. The exact cabinet also fits an under-18-inch width or under-30-inch height limit, but not a 13-inch depth cap. Heating is listed, so a general need for Heat can include it; an outdoor heat-pump range, exact heater mechanism, connected app, or compulsory heat-drain route remains unknown and should fail those more specific requirements. A gravity route is documented; an integrated pump is not.
Choose a cooling-only unit if you do not need Heat and would rather move a lighter cabinet. Choose a model whose current exact manual consistently states heat-pump operation if that mechanism and its low-temperature limit are essential. The BPACT12HWT shares the unstandardized cooling headline and also has conflicting cabinet dimensions/mass; it should not be treated as a smaller or lighter substitute without checking its exact version. Either way, plan the sash seal and drain before delivery.
Sources: BLACK+DECKER BPACT14HWT product information, its separate HWT-pair manual listing, and the linked family manual from the exact BPACT12HWT page. The separate manual versions are not treated as interchangeable where they conflict.
Key details at a glance
| DOE seasonal-adjusted cooling capacity | 7700 BTU/h |
|---|---|
| Documented modes | cool / heat / dehumidify / fan |
| Dual-hose exhaust arrangement | No |
| Cabinet width | 17.1 in |
| Cabinet height | 28.1 in |
| Cabinet depth | 13.8 in |
| Listed product weight | 68.3 lb |
| Listed limited warranty | 1 years |
| Window-kit minimum width (where exact manual confirms) | 20.5 in |
| Window-kit maximum width (where exact manual confirms) | 59 in |
| ASHRAE cooling rating (separate test method) | 14000 BTU/h |
| Supplemental heat documented | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Exact BLACK+DECKER U.S. BPACT14HWT product information article
- Official 24-page English BPACT12HWT/BPACT14HWT manual-center PDF (scanned)
- Official BLACK+DECKER BPACT12HWT / BPACT14HWT manual listing
- Official 192-page English/French/Spanish BPACT12/14 family manual PDF
- Exact BPACT14HWT BLACK+DECKER support-page product image
- Dated official CPSC recall-listing search reused from prior B+D work
Keep the model number in the decision.
Check the listed suffix, included vent kit, room conditions and service instructions before ordering.
