Model assessment · BLACK+DECKER

BLACK+DECKER BP06PWA 6,000-BTU SACC portable air conditioner review

A cooling-only, single-hose 6,000-BTU/h SACC portable AC with a remote, 24-hour timer, washable filter and continuous gravity-drain option; the manufacturer guide associates this capacity with rooms up to 250 sq ft.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

White BLACK+DECKER BP06PWA portable air conditioner with a remote shown on a plain background; exact model association is from the model-coded manufacturer asset URL.
The archived manufacturer primary image shows a white rolling portable AC and a hand holding its remote against a white background. No room, window, hose installation, scale or performance result appears. BP06PWA is named in the exact manufacturer asset URL, not legible on the cabinet. Photograph-versus-render status is uncertain. BLACK+DECKER
A useful fit for

A small-to-moderate room where a 6,000-BTU/h SACC tier is suitable, the standard slider kit fits, a single exhaust hose reaches the window and the owner accepts weekly filter care and occasional drainage.

The main tradeoff

BP06PWA adds 1,000 BTU/h SACC and a 100-sq-ft-larger manufacturer area estimate over BP05PWA, with the same listed cabinet size and window range; it is about 4.4 lb heavier and the official power listing is 190 W higher. The higher input is not proof of worse efficiency because neither exact EnergyGuide CEER is available. It cannot meet a 7,100-SACC, heating, pump or documented-app requirement; cabinet depth is conflicted and should be checked before a tight fit.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need at least 6,000 BTU/h SACC rather than a 5,000-SACC option?

BP06PWA is listed at 6,000 SACC; it clears a 6,000 minimum but not 7,100. The 10,000-BTU ASHRAE figure is not a substitute for a higher SACC rating.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the standard slider kit cover the opening you measured?

The manual gives 27.5–47.2 in for its standard kit. It allows cutting one panel for a shorter opening but does not specify a numerical post-cut minimum; the finder treats only its standard range as confirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can you route condensate by gravity rather than relying only on auto evaporation?

Yes for the documented continuous-drain option: the shared manual names a supplied drain hose that can lead to a floor drain or drip tray. It does not document a lift pump.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a 7,100-SACC minimum or a heat pump essential?

Neither condition fits: the exact product is 6,000 SACC and is cooling-only. Choose a higher-capacity or separate heat-capable configuration if either need is essential.

Explore this need in the finder →

The BLACK+DECKER BP06PWA is the higher-capacity member of a two-model portable-AC manual family. It is rated at 6,000 BTU/h SACC and 10,000 BTU/h ASHRAE; compare it by the DOE seasonal-adjusted figure, not by treating 10,000 as another SACC value. The shared manual associates its 6,000-BTU model with rooms up to 250 square feet. That manufacturer estimate can help set scale, but a sunny room, high ceiling, leaky doors or appliances can change the actual cooling load.

What the extra 1,000 SACC changes

Against the BP05PWA, this model clears a 6,000-SACC minimum while the smaller sibling does not. It adds 100 square feet to the manual's room-size estimate, although this remains a rough guide rather than a promise that every 250-square-foot space will cool evenly. A 7,100-SACC minimum excludes BP06PWA as well as BP05PWA; the 10,000-BTU ASHRAE label cannot satisfy that requirement. When a questionnaire asks for capacity, the useful break is therefore 5,000 versus 6,000 SACC, not 8,000 versus 10,000 ASHRAE.

Both units share the same manual-listed cabinet size, 13 inches wide by 26.77 inches tall, and the same window-kit range. BP06PWA is heavier at approximately 45.2 pounds, compared with 40.8 pounds for BP05PWA. Its support page lists 1,050 W and 9.5 A running, versus the smaller model's 860 W and 7.6 A. The increased rated input is consistent with the larger model's listed capacity, but it is not a measured comparison of seasonal efficiency. No exact EnergyGuide CEER was found for this model, so do not select it as the more efficient choice on those wattage figures alone.

One hose, one window route, no heat mode

BP06PWA uses one flexible exhaust hose. The exact manual says to connect that hose for Cool and Dehumidify and disconnect it for Fan. A single hose is not the same as a dual-hose intake/exhaust system. Keep the hose route short and free of sharp bends, allow air clearance around the machine, and seal the panel edges. A room with no workable window or comparable exhaust route is not a fit for this operating plan.

The included slider panel's standard range is 27.5 to 47.2 inches for typical vertical and horizontal sliding windows. The manual allows the panel with the hose opening to be cut shorter for a smaller opening, but it does not specify a guaranteed minimum after cutting; the finder only treats the published standard span as a confirmed hard fit. It does not establish casement-window compatibility. Depth is also not safe to hard-match from the available descriptions: the manual says 11 inches, while the exact support/store pages say 11.2. If the cabinet must fit into a narrow gap, measure the actual appliance and plan additional room for the hose and airflow.

Understand what “auto evaporation” does not mean

The manufacturer describes automatic water evaporation, and the exact manual says the tank usually will not fill during ordinary cooling. That is not a no-drain guarantee. High humidity can make the reservoir fill and can bring up E2, stopping cooling until the water is removed. The manual covers both intermittent bottom-cap draining and a supplied drain hose that can feed a floor drain or drip tray continuously. It specifically recommends that continuous route in Dehumidify mode. Gravity requires the outlet to be lower than the drain port; the documentation does not establish a built-in lift pump. If a drain cannot be reached without raising the hose or creating a spill risk, plan for occasional manual emptying instead of assuming the unit can pump water upstairs.

Operation and upkeep

The named manual lists Cool, Dehumidify and Fan, a remote and a 24-hour timer; the remote also documents a sleep function. BLACK+DECKER's support article says three cooling and three fan speeds, while the manual's selectable remote and panel instructions emphasize High and Low. No special speed-count requirement should depend on resolving that discrepancy. The manual's setpoint range is 61–88°F and its Cool/Dehumidify operating table is 64–95°F. The unit has no documented heating mode, app, voice-control feature or inverter compressor. An essential winter-heat or connected-control request therefore needs a different exact configuration.

The exact support article lists 1,050 watts, 9.5 running amps and 36 amps at start-up. The manual gives 115 V/60 Hz, requires a correctly grounded supply and prohibits an adapter or extension cord. Check the outlet and follow the warning about the unit's LCDI power plug; never modify its ground connection. The removable washable filter needs weekly cleaning, and the listed warranty is one year for labor and one year for parts for manufacturing defects, subject to the manual's exceptions.

Capacity versus weight and current availability

BP06PWA suits someone who needs the documented 6,000-SACC tier, can vent one hose through a compatible slider opening, and can manage a 45.2-pound unit with the casters' limits in mind. The lighter BP05PWA is worth comparing if 5,000 SACC is enough; the larger model is not automatically a better buy for a smaller, easier-to-cool room. A 7,100-SACC need, gravity outlet above the drain, mandatory lift pump, strict sound threshold or exact-label efficiency threshold requires a different documented candidate rather than an assumption from this family resemblance.

The official BLACK+DECKER storefront record showed BP06PWA unavailable in the checked October 2026 snapshot. Seller inventory can change, and that archival status is not an assertion about live stock. If evaluating an existing unit or a specific offer, match BP06PWA on the rating plate, inspect the hose and window pieces, and confirm who will carry and drain it. This is a source-based assessment rather than a personal-use report or an independent cooling test.

Sources: BLACK+DECKER BP06PWA product page, its BP06PWA support specification, and the manual whose cover names BP05PWA and BP06PWA.

Key details at a glance

DOE seasonal-adjusted cooling capacity6000 BTU/h
Manufacturer's stated room area250 sq ft (stated, not a guarantee)
Documented modescool / dehumidify / fan
Dual-hose exhaust arrangementNo
Cabinet width13 in
Cabinet height26.77 in
Listed product weight45.2 lb
Listed limited warranty1 years
Window-kit minimum width (where exact manual confirms)27.5 in
Window-kit maximum width (where exact manual confirms)47.2 in
ASHRAE cooling rating (separate test method)10000 BTU/h
Supplemental heat documentedNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Keep the model number in the decision.

Check the listed suffix, included vent kit, room conditions and service instructions before ordering.